So, England have decided to leave Andrew Strauss out of the tour to Bangladesh. Cricket writers across the nation have got irate at the prospect of the England captain taking a rest. Even the sports jockey on BBC Radio 2’s Drivetime show was suggesting that it was just not cricket.

I’m fairly relaxed about the move, provided it means that Mr. Strauss is in peak condition for England’s summer series and the Ashes tour to Australia. Granted, there is some work he could do in Bangladesh, but I feel that there are also other positives that can be gained by such a move.

Number 1. I get the ECB’s reasoning around Cook as captain. Succession planning is a good thing and he should gain valuable experience from taking on the role in Bangladesh.

Secondly, this provides an opportunity to take a look at Michael Carberry. I’ve seen him bat a few times in county cricket and he looks terrific. If he can make a significant impact at the top of the order it may be that he is the man to slot in at 3 when Strauss returns.

I’m afraid that I really don’t have an opinion as to how good or otherwise the selection of Ajmal Shahzad is, although I am disappointed that Adil Rashid has not been included in either squad.

Even if the cricket turns out to be dull, it’s going to be a really interesting series, if only to get a view of how the England team will develop.

