I have a two-and-a-half year old son. His Great Grandma got him his first cricket set for his second birthday, and he likes nothing more than chasing the ball around the kitchen and whacking it with a LOT of bottom hand.

Yesterday, however, he did something that horrified me.

The Sri Lanka v Bangladesh ODI was on Sky Sports. The boy took one look and said “Daddy, cricket boring.”

Several thoughts went through my mind, including whether I should take him outside into the snow and sub-zero temperatures and give him an hour’s practice under the high ball.

But then I got it. He is youth, he is the future. He finds 50-over cricket boring. That is why so much time and money is being invested in Twenty20. That, and Test match cricket is more exciting than ever.

I patted him on the head and thanked him for his honesty.

