When The Village Cricketer is not watching the rain fall and ruin yet another game of cricket, Aussie baiting or providing insightful commentary (from the grassroots) into the performances of Strauss, Pietersen, Flintoff, Tendulkar, Lara, Warne, etc. I have a day job. Its actually a pretty busy day job within a major global organisation, which sees me working many hours preaching the benefits of managing risk, controlling costs and improving customer experiences.

Occasionally, however, the world of work meets the world of extra-curricular activities head on, and I have taken up an invitation to play in a corporate cricket match: Major global conglomerate v recently acquired software vendor. I’m playing for the major global conglomerate, and its a daunting proposition.

Why daunting? Well, I’m not too worried by the oppo, they may have some useful players, however even if they turn out to be 11 Premier league players (which they won’t) I’m fairly sure I wouldn’t embarrass myself. I’m more daunted by the players on my own team. Don’t know if they’ll be any good, one or two sound like they may be quite handy. However, one of them is my boss, another is his boss, another is the MD of a bit of the business I do some work for, oh and there is his boss too. Would it be a good career move to run any of them out or drop a catch off their bowling? Probably not.

The second interesting bit is how hard to play the match. You can’t play at 80% because its a nice, friendly match, yet do you want to appear uber competitive in a beer match? If I don’t be uber competitive will the big shots on my team (who got where they were in the corporate world by being uber competitive) view it as weakness.

Office politics meets a beer match, and it is difficult to know where to draw the line.

The Village Cricketer opens the debate up to his readers. How should I approach this game?

