The observant among you will have noticed my attempt to predict the winners of the ICC awards. I have to admit, I predicted them very quickly based on nothing more than my own insight having watched a few games over the last year. Cricinfo reports in full, here is how my predictions faired:

* Cricketer of the Year: Prediction = Dale Steyn, Winner = Shivnarine Chanderpaul. INCORRECT, 0/1, FAIR ENOUGH

* Test Player of the Year: Prediction = Dale Steyn, Winner = Dale Steyn. CORRECTOMUNDO! 1/2, CHEAP WICKETS AGAINST THE KIWIS PROVED MAJOR FACTOR

* ODI Player of the Year: Prediction = Nathan Bracken, Winner = Mahendra Singh Dhoni. INCORRECT, 1/3. THE SLOGGER WINS OUT, GOT TO KEEP THE MONEY MEN HAPPY I GUESS

* Emerging Player of the Year: Prediction = Morne Morkel, Winner = Ajantha Mendis. INCORRECT, 1/4. FAIR ENOUGH, HAVING NEVER SEEN THE GUY I COULDN’T REALLY COMMENT

* Associate Player of the Year: Prediction = Ryan ten Doeschate, Winner = Ryan ten Doeschate. YESSH, THAT IS CORRECTSH, 2/5. SPEAK DOUBLE DUTCH TO A REAL DOUBLE DUTCHESS

* Twenty20 International Performance of the Year: Prediction = Yuvraj Singh, Winner = Yuvraj Singh. BINGO BONGO, 3/6. TAXI FOR STUART BROAD, THE MOST NAILED ON WINNER THERE WAS

* Women’s Player of the Year: Prediction = Charlotte Edwards, Winner = Charlotte Edwards. SPOT ON IN A SKIRT, 4/7. I SURE KNOW A THING OR TWO ABOUT THE LADIES

* Spirit of Cricket: Prediction = Sri Lanka, Winner = Sri Lanka. GOT HIM, 5/8. THE LITTLE SRI LONKONS CERTAINLY LOOK VERY SMORT IN THOSE BLUE UNIFORMS

* Umpire of the Year: Prediction = Simon Taufel, Winner = Simon Taufel. NOT OUT, 6/9. HOWZAT!

6 out of 9 for The Village Cricketer. Or in Kiwi speak, suxty sivin peecint (when rounded up).