I like Marcus Trescothick. He is a fine fine batsman and the England team is better with him in it. However I do have a slight problem with the fact that he has declared himself unavailable for September’s Twenty20 World Championship in South Africa as well as England’s winter tours of Sri Lanka and New Zealand.

Thing is, he may well have not recovered fully from his “stress-related illness”, however by playing for Somerset he is showing that he is fit enough to play. Tresco is still one of England’s 13 centrally contracted players, and I would assume on one of the higher paying bands. England are paying him to play and he is basically saying no thanks, I fancy the winter off. I am not sure that is quite right.

Aussie newspaper

If you are interested, Tresco has an official website, which is a little out of date.

