Jim Cumbes, the Lancashire chief executive, has got a little hot under the collar following Michael Vaughan’s interview with The Guardian in which he admitted the Fred-alo incident did affect the team.

From reading the full interview, this seems to be a bit of a storm in a pedalo. Vaughan seems to have answered questions truthfully, without the usual under-carpet-sweeping associated with ECB interviews, its all been a bit hyped up in the press, and Cumbes (overeacting) has vented spleen…

“I think it is completely out of order, I think it’s despicable, I think it stinks against a guy (Flintoff) who has given blood for England these past three or four years,” Cumbes said. “He was the talisman in the Ashes series in 2005…this fella has given blood for England and I think it is appalling he’s been treated in this fashion.”

Chill out man!

Even as a Lancastrian, I’m with Vaughan on this one.

