Duncan Fletcher has resigned as coach of England and will finish after the World Cup. Read all about it in The Guardian. A caretaker coach will be announced in the next 48 hours, with a permanent replacement to be named by July.

“I feel it is in the team’s best interests over the long term that I should move on and seek a new challenge elsewhere,” read a statement released by Fletcher. “This has been a difficult winter for the team and for me personally, but I believe that my record as coach over the past eight years is one in which I can take great pride.”

From The Guardian: Fletcher took up his post in 1999, at a time when England were labelled as the worst team in the world after a series loss against New Zealand. The side improved dramatically under his stewardship culminating in their Ashes triumph in 2005. But many observers believe England have failed to build on that victory. Fletcher’s men relinquished the Ashes this winter, suffering a 5-0 scalping by the Australians.

From TVC: Whatever England’s failings as a one day side, Duncan Fletcher turned England into a very good test side. He also played a key part in winding Ricky Ponting right up!

